Series to Get Hooked On: A Book List to Keep Them Reading!

When was the last time you read a book that was so good you hated to see it end? Perhaps it was part of a series and you quickly got your hands on the next book, or perhaps it was an author’s style that you loved so you began reading everything you could find that they’d written.

New readers can experience the same feeling. All it takes is one truly positive reading experience to send them searching for more. In this article we share some series of various levels that may just be your child’s new (amazing) obsession.

Miss Rhonda’s Readers

Written by a Montessori guide, these books are perfect for the very earliest readers. While animals feature heavily as the main characters in most of the books, there is some much needed diversity among children characters that is lacking in many early readers. There are now several sets to choose from, but the first set boasts delightful plotlines including a swimming dog who ends up getting children wet, a pair of robins defending their nest from a cat, children catching and releasing a crab at the beach, a very muddy pig, and a clever plan to retrieve an escaped hamster.

Elephant and Piggie Books

Officially, there are 25 books in this series, and there’s no need to read them in any particular order. Gerald the Elephant and his friend Piggie share many adventures, learn about life, and make children and their adults laugh. It’s likely their relatability that makes these books so appealing; the characters’ personalities are quite different yet compliment each other, and they experience emotions and events that kids face in real life. These books are so popular, that several more have been written by other authors as spin-offs, with the original characters featuring briefly. Children will enjoy them from the preschool years into early lower elementary.

Kevin Henkes’ Mouse Books

These books are so sweet it’s almost impossible not to love them. There are more than 20 books and each features mice characters that are personified and navigating the same life experiences as young children. These are likely best utilized as read alouds during the primary years, and as independent reads during lower elementary. Children will learn what to do when a guest behaves less than stellar, how to handle worries, why it’s important to love oneself in the face of teasing, dealing with the complicated emotions of having a new baby sibling, and so much more.

The Princess in Black Series